Do-It Yourself: Time to get Happy!

photo

Before the holiday break, I stumbled across a Pinterest post titled “10 ways to be happier in your own home”. It intrigued me and I decided to give it a read. Most of the concepts are quite simple, and I decided to adopt some gradually over the break. It was amazing how much of a difference they made in my mood, and really made me happier. Here i’ve shared my top picks from the list, although all of them are amazing. To follow the blog post and read the full list, click here: Happier in your own Home

Make your bed: The book The Happiness Project, explains that this three minute task is one of the simplest habits you can adopt to positively impact your happiness.

This one was huge for me! I usually stumble out of bed, toss the covers back on and leave. Making my bed was something I never did when I was even a kid. So I built this into my morning routine and amazingly enough, it’s made a huge difference. Not only does my room seem much cleaner in the morning, when I come home and see it made it makes me happy.

If you can’t get out of it, get into it: This tip comes from The Happiness Project. I love the message: The dishes are not going to clean themselves, so you will do it, and you will like it! (Unless, of course, you can outsource this job, in which case I say: Nice work!) Otherwise, get into doing the dishes. Feel the soothing warm water on your hands. Enjoy the tickle of the tiny bubbles. Crank your favorite album at an unusually loud volume, do a couple fist-pumps while shouting “Can I get a hell yeah for the dishes? Hell! Yeah!” and pretend you love it.

Another great one to adopt! There’s definitely tasks in everyone’s routine that they don’t enjoy but it’s the attitude you take going into it that can make all the difference. I dislike doing the dishes (ask my mom, she’ll agree wholeheartedly) but when you get into it, you actually don’t mind doing it! Give it a try, and you’ll be happy you did.

Spend money on things that cultivate experiences at home: Save money for a new grill for parties or a new DVD for family movie night — something that will encourage you to have people over and entertain. Plan a summer barbeque, invite your closest friends, kick back and relax. (And don’t forget to print out the pictures to remember the good times.)

This one was a great find for me. I’m an instant gratification kind of person when it comes to money and purchasing things, which often leads to disappointment after the fact. I think spending your money wisely on making memories is far better than acquiring possessions or things you’ll forget about tomorrow. This is something I want to adopt moving forward in 2013!

Hope you enjoy the rest of the 10 things to make you happy, and be sure to follow Headed Somewhere’s blog for more tips!

Leave a Reply

