Growing Mint

growing-mint

Herb gardens are the bomb. Having different herbs constantly at your disposal’s a great way to jazz anything up – salads, teas, lip balms….honestly anything.

My mom recently brought home Chocolate Mint to grow. I’d never know it existed so I did a little research and decided it’s something you need.

Here’s a couple tips and tricks to growing mint, and what to do with chocolate mint!

GROWING MINT:

– Mint takes over! The roots of mint will grow super deep and spread so if you’re not planting it into a contained space, try planting it into a pot first and then inserting the pot into your garden. This will keep the roots in one spot.

– They don’t like full sun, so try and place mint somewhere where it sees sun and shade throughout the day.

– Extra mint can be planted directly from mint stems, so you can share your mint. Makes a great hostess gift!

WHY MINT?

Mint’s an awesome addition to your life, as I mentioned before. One of my favourite things to do is add it to my water every day. I cut up lemon slices, freeze them to use for ice cubes, add some fresh crushed mint and top my water with cayenne pepper. It’s absolute amazing.

As well, one of my favourite summer drinks is Mojitos! This infusion of mint, simple syrup, rum and limes really reminds me of Mexico, and who can go wrong with that! Here’s a recipe for you from the one and only Jamie Oliver: Mojitos

So what about Chocolate Mint??

CHOCOLATE MINT:

Organic Authority wrote an awesome article on 10 growing tips and uses for Chocolate Mint!

Here are my two favourite uses:

– Chocolate Mint Tea: place leaves in hot water and enjoy

– Ice Cream: Either add it to your favourite pre-made flavour or whip up your own!

Leave a comment